Answered by Mufti Muhammad ibn Adam
Question : Can I Eat Meat Slaughtered by Jews and Christians?
Answer : The general ruling is that if an animal is slaughtered by a Muslim, or a genuine Christian or Jew, then it would be halal to consume from it, provided the other two conditions of a valid slaughter are also met, namely the cutting of veins with a sharp tool, and pronouncing the name of Allah Most High. (See: The major Fiqh references)
Allah Most High says:
“Today are (all) things good and pure made lawful unto you. The food of the People of the Book is lawful unto you and yours is lawful unto them.” (Surah al-An’am, V. 5)
However, if there is a valid reason to doubt the belief of a particular Christian or Jew, then it will not be allowed to consume the animal slaughtered by them. If one is a Christian or a Jew merely by name, and in reality he is an atheist, then his slaughtered meat would remain unlawful. If a Jew denies the existence of God, he is not really a Jew; hence, his slaughtered meat would be haram. The condition is that the slaughterer is a genuine Christian or Jew, even if that means he does not believe in the Qur’an or considers Sayyiduna Isa (peace be upon him) to be the son of God.
As regards to kosher meat, the fatwa of most contemporary scholars is that it is in itself halal, as such meat fulfils the conditions of a valid slaughter. However, scholars say that Muslims should avoid kosher meat due to the Zionist oppression in Palestine.
In conclusion, the general ruling is of the permissibility of consuming meat slaughtered by a true and genuine Jew. However, if one lives in an area where meat is slaughtered by individuals who are only considered Jews by name, and in reality they deny the existence of God, then the ruling would be otherwise.
And Allah knows best
Muhammad ibn Adam
Leicester , UK