Answered by Ustadh Salman Younas

Question: Is Tamari that has alcohol added as a preservative allowed?

Answer: assalamu alaykum

Tamari is one specific type of Japanese soy sauce.

Tamari that has alcohol added to it as a preservative would be permitted to consume. The alcohol is both small in quantity and is not being used in any manner resembling intoxication.

If there are non-alcoholic alternatives, it would be best to opt for them given the difference of opinion on the issue.

Please see: Can We Use Deodorants, Creams, and Perfumes That Contain Alcohol?

[Ustadh] Salman Younas

Checked and approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani

Ustadh Salman Younas graduated from Stony Brook University with a degree in Political Science and Religious Studies. After studying the Islamic sciences online and with local scholars in New York, Ustadh Salman moved to Amman. There he studies Islamic law, legal methodology, belief, hadith methodology, logic, Arabic, and tafsir.

Please share this with your family and friends:

"Whoever guides someone to goodness will have a similar reward"-- The Prophet (Peace and Blessings Be Upon Him)