Answered by Shaykh Faraz A. Khan

Question: Is kosher gelatin halal?

Answer: Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah,

I pray this finds you in the best of health and states.

The answer is, it depends on the source of the gelatin. If it is from slaughtered kosher meat, it would be halal since the meat is halal. If it is from fish or vegetarian sources, it is of course halal.

If however it is from pig or an unslaughtered animal, ‘kosher gelatin’ would not be halal. This would have to be ascertained by the appropriate source (whether the company or the Rabbi that approves, etc).

And Allah knows best.
wassalam
Faraz

Checked & Approved by Faraz Rabbani

Please share this with your family and friends:

"Whoever guides someone to goodness will have a similar reward"-- The Prophet (Peace and Blessings Be Upon Him)