Answered by Ustadh Tabraze Azam
Question: Assalam alaikum
Is sushi containing rice, wine vinegar and mirin permissible?
Answer:Assalamu alaikum wa rahmatullah,
Sushi made with fish would be permitted in the absence of any unlawful ingredients. Mirin appears to be a type of wine, hence, it would be impermissible to consume it or eat food cooked in it.
Please also see: Can We Use Deodorants, Creams, and Perfumes That Contain Alcohol?
And Allah Most High alone knows best.
[Ustadh] Tabraze Azam
Checked and Approved by Shaykh Faraz Rabbani
Ustadh Tabraze Azam was born and raised in Ipswich, England, a quiet town close to the east coast of England. His journey for seeking sacred knowledge began when he privately memorized the entire Qur’an in his hometown at the age of 16. He also had his first experience in leading the tarawih (nightly-Ramadan) prayers at his local mosque. Year after year he would continue this unique return to reciting the entire Quran in one blessed month both in his homeland, the UK, and also in the blessed lands of Shaam, where he now lives, studies and teaches.